Appointed Officials by Title

City Manager
The City Manager is appointed by City Council for an indefinite term. The major duties of the City Manager include: supervising and coordinating the activities of City departments; attending Council meetings and making recommendations on appropriate matters of business; ensuring that all orders and policies of the City Council are implemented; recommending the annual budget; keeping City Council advised on the financial condition of the City; and representing the City in governmental affairs with other agencies.

City Attorney
The City Attorney is appointed by City Council. The City Attorney's Office represents and advises the Mayor, City Council and City officials and departments in legal matters pertaining to their office and City operations.

Clerk of Council
The Clerk of Council is appointed by City Council, upon the recommendation of the City Administrator, for an indefinite term. The Clerk of Council keeps all records of City Council; prepares, authenticates, and records ordinances and resolutions; keeps elections records; notifies Council of impending expiration of the term of office of board and commission members; keeps the official seal of the City.

Municipal Judges
Municipal Judges are appointed and serve at the pleasure of the Mayor and City Council. The City’s Judges schedule and rule on municipal offenses and state criminal cases occurring within the City limits, including misdemeanor, criminal and traffic charges.
Appointed Officials by Name 

City Manager

City Attorney 

Clerk of Council

City of Port Wentworth Judge 


Edwin L. Booth 

James L. Coursey, Jr. 

Shanta M. Scarboro

Hermann W. Coolidge, Jr.  

 Eric Gotwalt 
Department Heads

Chief of Fire Operations

Chief of Police Operations 

Director of Development Services 

Director of Human Resources 

Director of Leisure Services

Director of Operations 


Lance Moore 

Matthew Libby 

Brian Harvey 

Yolanda Irizarry 

Tiffany Lancaster

Shanta M. Scarboro 


Agenda buttonPay buttonJobs buttonPermit buttonService Request buttonFAQ button

Copyright © 2016 - Port Wentworth, GA. USA

powered by  ezTaskTitanium  TM